comparisons

Ollama vs LM Studio — Local Runtime vs Agent App (2026)

Ollama v0.34.x (MIT, CLI runtime, optional cloud Pro) vs LM Studio Bionic 1.1.x (proprietary desktop agent with skills, MCP, ZDR cloud). Tables, pricing, and when to pick which.
by cache.directory updated Sep 10, 2026 CC-BY-4.0

## what it does

tl;dr: Ollama is the MIT-licensed runtime you script against; LM Studio Bionic is the proprietary desktop agent you work in. Local models are free on both; both sell optional cloud usage.

Quick verdict

  • Pick Ollama if you want a scriptable runtime, Docker/headless deployment, open-source licensing, or a coding-agent backend.
  • Pick LM Studio Bionic if you want a desktop app that does the work — documents, slides, PDFs, code — with skills, MCP servers, and a GUI, and you’re fine with proprietary software.
  • Both run models locally for free. Both sell optional cloud usage with published token pricing (Ollama) or in-app plans (LM Studio).

Sources: ollama.com and lmstudio.ai fetched 2026-09-10.

Head-to-head

DimensionOllamaLM Studio Bionic
Current versionv0.34.0 (Sep 5, 2026)Bionic 1.1.2 (Sep 8, 2026)
LicenseMIT (open source, 181k GitHub stars)Proprietary (free download)
InterfaceCLI + REST API; no built-in GUIDesktop GUI agent app + lms CLI
Enginesllama.cpp + MLX pathLM Studio runtime: MLX + llama.cpp (2.33.0 packs in 1.1.2)
PlatformsmacOS, Linux, Windows, DockermacOS, Windows, Linux (x64 + ARM64 since 1.1.2)
Headless / serverYes — Docker image, daemon modeNo — desktop-first
Local APIlocalhost:11434, OpenAI-compatible, official Python/JS SDKsLocal server: /v1/responses, /v1/chat/completions, /v1/messages
Agent featuresollama launch claude — boots Claude Code, Codex, OpenCode, OpenClaw against local modelsBuilt-in agent: documents, slides, PDFs, coding projects, shell Auto Review, vision subagents
Skills / MCPVia the agent you connect (Claude Code skills, etc.)Native: /install-skill, /create-skill, MCP servers including OAuth
VoiceNoReal-time local voice transcription (audio stays on device)
Multi-modelMultiple models via APIVision subagents, LM Link (use peers’ models over LAN)
EmbeddingsYes (nomic-embed-text, 85M+ pulls)Yes (first-class since 1.0.4)
Latest release notesOllama models inside ChatGPT Desktop; structured-output speedups on Apple Silicon; OpenAI-compatible tool search + response compactionLinux x64/ARM64 builds, llama.cpp 2.33.0, MLX model detection fixes, drag-and-drop sessions

Pricing

Ollama plans (USD, fetched 2026-09-10)

PlanPriceIncluded usageConcurrency
Free$0Starter credits on starter models1
Pro$20/mo or $200/yr (≈$16.67/mo annual)$60/mo3
Max$100/mo$300/mo, early access to newest models10
Team$500/mo (early access)$1,000/mo shared, unlimited users, central billing10
EnterpriseCustomVolume pricing, model access controls, cost budgets, dedicated Slack—

Local models are always free and unlimited. Annual Pro cuts to $16.67/mo. Team is early access; usage beyond included credits draws from a shared team balance billed as you go.

Ollama cloud token pricing (per 1M tokens)

ModelInputCached inputOutput
gpt-oss:20b$0.07$0.035$0.30
gpt-oss:120b$0.15$0.014$0.60
nemotron-3-nano$0.06—$0.24
nemotron-3-super$0.015$0.015$0.60
nemotron-3-ultra$0.10$0.10$3.00
qwen3.5:397b$0.60—$3.60
gemma4$0.14$0.05$0.40
deepseek-v4-flash$0.22$0.007$0.66
deepseek-v4-pro$0.66$0.022$1.98
kimi-k2.6$0.95$0.16$4.00
kimi-k2.7-code$0.95$0.19$4.00
kimi-k3$3.00$0.30$15.00
glm-5.1$1.00$0.20$3.20
glm-5.2$1.40$0.26$4.40
glm-5.3$1.40$0.26$4.40
glm-5.3-flash$0.15$0.03$0.50
minimax-m2.7$0.30$0.06$1.20
minimax-m3$0.60$0.12$2.40
mistral-large-3$0.50—$1.50

Peak pricing applies 12:00–18:00 UTC Mon–Fri: deepseek-v4-flash doubles to $0.44 input / $1.32 output; deepseek-v4-pro doubles to $1.32 input / $3.96 output. Reset date is the same day each month you subscribed; unused credits do not roll over. Free/Pro/Max draw credits in that order (plan first, then purchased balance).

LM Studio Bionic

Detail
Local modelsFree, unlimited. App is a free download
Cloud modelsFrontier open weights (GLM 5.2, Kimi K3, DeepSeek V4 Pro) via in-app plans
Token pricingNot published on lmstudio.ai or the changelog as of 2026-09-10; managed in-app
Data policyZero Data Retention “across the board” per the homepage

Ollama publishes token pricing; LM Studio does not. That’s a data point: Ollama is courting API buyers, LM Studio is courting app users.

Data policy

Ollama cloudLM Studio cloud
Hosting regionsUS primary; Europe and Singapore for capacityNot specified on fetched pages
LoggingPrompts and responses never loggedZero Data Retention, all services
Training on promptsNoNo
Partner / infraNVIDIA Cloud Partners (NCPs), with no-log / no-train / ZDR contractsNot stated on fetched pages

Performance

Both sit on llama.cpp and both ship MLX paths for Apple Silicon. LM Studio’s 1.1.0 changelog claims 2–2.75× faster prompt processing on M5 Macs via MLX. Ollama’s v0.34.0 release notes call out structured-output perf on Apple Silicon. For the same GGUF on the same hardware, expect parity — the wrapper, not the math, is the difference. Ollama’s marketing claims 195.6 tok/sec on DeepSeek v4 Flash vs Provider A 97.6 (vendor benchmark, August 2026). sandbox_test: untested here.

When to pick which

Your situationPick
Backend for an app, CI, or a serverOllama
Running Claude Code / Codex against local modelsOllama (ollama launch claude)
Docker, Kubernetes, homelabOllama
License-sensitive (need MIT)Ollama
Daily driver for documents/slides/PDFs with an agentLM Studio Bionic
Want skills + MCP without assembling a stackLM Studio Bionic
Voice inputLM Studio Bionic
Apple Silicon, want the tuned MLX path with disk cacheLM Studio Bionic
Need published token prices for cloud usageOllama
Non-technical teammate needs local AILM Studio Bionic

They compose: Ollama on the server, Bionic on the laptop, same open models underneath.

Sources (fetched 2026-09-10)

## embed this badge

cache ✓ in cache.directory
![cached](https://cache.directory/badge/ollama-vs-lm-studio.svg)